The Perfect (slimming world) Chips (and syn free ketchup)

Peter Kay’s stand up is a comfort to me, his northern voice and jokes that aren’t funny if you live south of Nottingham make me happy, make me proud to be northern, they offer solidarity as I stumble around in Birmingham not quite understanding everyone or being understood myself.  In one of his shows he does a little section about Slimming World, pretending to be a not so nice slimming world leader he asks, ‘Carol, what do you get if you take the ‘C’ off chips? … I’m only saying I can’t do it for you.’ – ha-ha genius, but not very accurate because all of you who do slimming world (or live with some one who does) will know that there is a magic guilt free way of making chips – Slimming World Chips.

This post is perfect for any one whose slimming world chips are soggy or don’t turn that lovely brown chip colour, or for those of you who just want a healthier alternative to the Friday night chip shop run. Key points are using the correct potatoes, having a really hot oven and baking tray, and drying the chips before they go in the oven.

I have had varying degrees of success with these but I have now perfected my technique and I am ready to share it with you.

1. preheat your oven to about 200 degrees C (I put mine on maximum) make sure your baking try is in the oven getting hot while the oven preheats.

2. Start with a Maris Piper potato, wash it but leave the skin on. Cut the potato into ‘chip’ shapes, Don’t worry too much about getting them perfect as long as they are about the same size so they cook even everything is fine!

3. Put the chips into a pan of salted boiling water, boil until a knife point will easily enter the chips.

3.  Drain the chips in a colander, empty the pan of water and put back on the hob with the colander on top of the pan. (this starts the drying process)

4. Transfer the chips to a piece of kitchen towel and dab dry the potatoes. (this will minimise steam in the oven and help make your chips crispier)

5. The final part of drying is to season your chips before you cook them, sprinkle with salt and pepper (but remember you have done this before you add any salt at the table) leave them for a few seconds and dab again with kitchen paper. (the salt should have drawn out any excess water left in the chips)

6. Take your hot baking tray from the oven and spray with spray light (1 cal spray cooking oil).

7. Arrange your chips on the baking try so that they flat and even then spray the top of the chips with spray light.

8. cook for 20ish mins or until the chips look nice and crispy.

A lot of effort? Maybe but it is worth it. However I do feel that there is no point going to all that trouble and then squeezing on the tomato ketchup which is full of syns, so here is may recipe for syn free* tomato ketchup.

tomato puree and 0% fat natural yogurt/ fromaige frais in a ratio of 1:2
a sprinkle of artificial sweetener
a few drops of Tabasco

you need to play about with this to get the ratio’s to your taste but once you have it will free up lots of syns for things more exciting than ketchup.

* Although I make every effort to correctly work out syns values, please be aware that syn values may vary depending where you buy certain items and that being human I do make mistakes. If using my recipes please double check the syn value for yourself, I would hate a mistake to sabotage anyone’s weight loss.

7 thoughts on “The Perfect (slimming world) Chips (and syn free ketchup)

  1. Great tips! I was almost there with my chips, but these tips should help me get even better, and stop passing the job along to my husband lol!

  2. Super, Let me know how you get on! We are having fish chips and mushy peas for tea tonight so I’m hopping to add some pictures to this post.

  3. Pingback: Skinny Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas | Our Journey to slim and healthy

  4. Pingback: Rump Steak, Wedges and Veg | Our Journey to slim and healthy

  5. Pingback: Spicy Sweet Potato Wedges With Chicken and Veg | Our Slimming World Journey

Leave a Reply

