Diet Coke Chicken: The Ethics of Healthy Eating

SO everyone who has ever been to slimming world has heard of it, some of us rave about it and some of us sit there feeling a little nauseous at thought of it, you know what I’m referring to; Diet Coke Chicken. Well last night Luke and I tried it and we have a mixed review for you. But before I get onto recipes, pictures and reviews it got me thinking about the ethics of my current diet.

The past few weeks has seen a massive shift in my priorities concerning food, some of these are certainly for the best (choosing healthier food, less meat, cooking in low fat ways, not snacking out of boredom) but could my diet be having a negative affect too?  Last night I had sweet and sour chicken, it was syn free made possible by the addition of a can of diet coke.  I decided to walk to my nearest Waitrose to pick up a can of Ubuntu (getting in some sneaky body magic). For those of you who don’t know Ubuntu is a cola drink which is fair trade you can read about it here. Ubuntu is an African word meaning, ‘I am because we are’ and it really sums up the responsibility we each have to live respectful and thoughtful lives as well as reminding us how interdependent and fragile the link between our lives and those of people who live in the global south really are.

So…. I was in Waitrose looking for my can of diet Ubuntu, could I find one? No! I reluctantly picked up a can of diet coke and took it home to cook. I logged onto my computer ready to use my consumer power; first I needed to find out if you could buy diet Ubuntu and then I would write to Waitrose and tell them they should start stocking it, and that they should also start stocking multi-packs in stead of just single cans. As I was typing away on Google it dawned on me (I’m sure most of you are already there…. Ubuntu is fair trade because it is made with fair trade sugar from Malawi, I was looking for a product with no sugar in it!! DUH!

So my first dilemma, in which I would appreciate your help is; the lack of fair trade sugar in Coca Cola is not the only reason I prefer not to buy it, can any one suggest a brand that I can buy in diet and in good conscience?
And so we come to my second dilemma; fresh fruit and veg. I try not to buy anything that has to be air freighted (although I do have an unhealthy obsession with fair trade flowers) in terms of fruit and veg this means stuff that has to be sold within a few days of being picked and has been grown abroad; soft fruits, asparagus etc.  things that take time to ripen and have thick skins, melons, bananas etc come via boat and can travel from as far as South East Asia with a carbon foot print equivalent to driving you car 3 or 4 miles, which I think is quite impressive. At the moment this isn’t causing to much of a problem for us as there are plenty of soft fruits grown here in the UK and plenty of veg on offer but as we move into the winter months (sorry for reminding you) the choice will become limited, carrots, swede, squashes, leeks and potatoes so I want to be prepared, thinking ahead ready for when choice becomes limited, the nights are cold and dark and temptation will creep in.

I would love you suggestions. If you are interested in reading more about my endeavor to peruse an ethical life style you might be interested in some of my posts on this blog.

Now what you’ve all been waiting for Diet Coke Chicken. In most recipes I have seen they describe the taste as BBQ but Luke and I thought it tasted more sweet and sour style.

syns on extra easy = 0*

ingredients:
1 1/2 chicken breasts, sliced into strips
2 carrots cut into thick match sticks
2 sticks of celery cut into thick match sticks
1 pepper sliced
1 onion sliced
1 can Diet Coke
1/2 tin of tomatoes
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
a few drops of Tabasco
salt and pepper and fry light

1. heat a frying pan and spray with fry light.
2. fry the chicken until golden then remove from pan
3. add the vegetables and fry on a low heat until softened.
4. add the chicken back to the pan
5. season with salt, pepper, Worcestershire sauce and Athabasca
6. add the tin tomatoes and cook for a few minutes
7. turn up the heat and add the can of coke
8. let the dish bubble away for 15/ 20 minutes until the sauce has reduced by half and the veggies are tender.
9. serve with rice and sweetcorn.

Our Review:
Comments from Luke, ‘It’s nice but I’m not a big sweet n sour fan, but still if you made it again I would hapily eat it’. (He did have seconds!). My thoughts; I really enjoyed it, it didn’t at all taste like diet food or like it was missing anything, I am going to make it again I’ll just make sure I’ve cooked Luke a steak the day before so he can’t complain!

* Although I make every effort to correctly work out syns values, please be aware that syn values may vary depending where you buy certain items and that being human I do make mistakes. If using my recipes please double check the syn value for yourself, I would hate a mistake to sabotage anyone’s weight loss.

One thought on “Diet Coke Chicken: The Ethics of Healthy Eating

  1. I’m really interested to see your take on the Slimming World diet in Wintertime. I’m making a conscious effort to make the move toward using only vegetables and fruit that are in season, and as local as possible, so I can see my winter being full of casseroles and roasts!

    Looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

