Skinny Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas

As you know I am a Northerner and although I protest (loudly) against most of the stereotypes thrown at me I do love a bit of Northern stodge. Pie and chips, hot pot, fish supper. YUM I spent some time in Ghana and they have a dish called FuFu, it sits in your stomach in quite distinctive way and although I’m not a fan I must say I understand what my host Dad (the head of the household I was staying with) meant when he said, ‘it’s a different kind of full, I don’t quite feel full when I eat any other meal’, for me it’s the same with Northern stodge.

Slimming and stodge don’t really go together though do they?

Well always ready to put my food optimising to the test here is my completely satisfying, kinda stodgy, skinny fish, chips and Mushy peas. This week I have been trying to up both my super free food intake and speed food intake this meal has two speed foods (Pollock and mushy peas) but no super free food so to comply with slimming world’s rules of eating at least 1/3 super free food every time you eat I added some beetroot to my fish and chip supper and washed it down with a couple of slices of melon.To find out more about my week of super free speed eating check out this post (it also explains all the slimming world terminology for those of you who aren’t familiar with it) 

Marks out of ten from Luke = 9
super free foods = 0
speed foods = 2
syns on extra easy= 2*

Skinny Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas

Ingredients

fish (check your book to see which fish is speed food, most white fish is a goer)
Maris piper or baking potatoes
tin of mushy peas
salt and pepper
spray light.

1. cut potatoes into chip shapes
2. par boil chips
3. put chips on oven dish and spray with spray light, cook on high heat for 40 minutes.
4. pan fry (with spray light)/ steam/microwave/ bake or poach your fish (following instructions for your preferred fish, our Pollock was oven baked for 25 mins from frozen)
5. heat mushy peas
6. assemble on plate.

Okay that sounds really quick and easy but slimming world chips take time if you want the most satisfying, chip like results, for perfect chips read this post, I promise it will solve all your chippy problems.

Do you have any slimming versions of childhood faves, or any childhood faves you would like me to have a go at making skinny but just as tasty? leave your ideas below and let’s see what we can come up with.

* Although I make every effort to correctly work out syns values, please be aware that syn values may vary depending where you buy certain items and that being human I do make mistakes. If using my recipes please double check the syn value for yourself, I would hate a mistake to sabotage anyone’s weight loss.

3 thoughts on “Skinny Fish, Chips and Mushy Peas

  1. Pingback: Holiday Dieting: It Was All Going So Well… | Our Journey to slim and healthy

  2. A really good stodge food for me when I need something comforting is SW chips topped with beans and a HexA of cheddar with a few quorn nuggets at half syn each (taste just like chicken dippers) 🙂 If you have a green day then you don’t need to worry about the third superfree (though I’d still have some fruit or something after)

    • I’m quite new to slimming world and haven’t tried a red or green day. I’m trying to keep it simple for now. I like the sound of your meal though. Sounds like a nice, back from work late and wanna watch telly meal.

Leave a Reply

