Skinny Sunday Roast Dinner

Some of my best memories growing up are family Sunday dinners. We had quite traditional Sundays, Church off to my Grandparents for Roast Dinner then a drive or walk in the countryside depending on the weather, then a bath, drying my hair in front of the fire watching heartbeat and eating cheese on toast dunked in Heinz cream of tomato soup. They were real family days.

My grandparents were in charge of the roast, which I loved, we always ate well at home always fresh food but my grandparents had a bit more money to spend on food and a bit more time to prepare it so it was always a treat. we would normally have roast meat (my fave being lamb) with mash and roast potatoes (cooked in dripping), buttery carrot and swede mash, dark green cabbage, stuffing (home made wet and dry versions), home made Yorkshire puddings, brussel sprouts, peas, gravy made from the meat juice, and loads of butter over all the veg. Depending on the meat we also had home made mint or apple sauce – made with home grown apples and mint. The roast would always be followed by a pie made by my Granny, usually apple but some times bilberry or plum, if she had spare pastry she would also make an egg custard or a sad cake which we would eat buttered.

This tradition hasn’t followed me through to now, at uni I stopped going to church and ate meals that were quicker and easier to prepare for one and now I live with Luke we go to church but rarely enjoy a roast but yesterday I really wanted one. Needles to say the dripping potatoes and buttery veggies are out of bounds now that we are following the slimming world plan but yesterday I managed to make a syn free roast which certainly hit the spot. The great thing is that it is packed full of super free speed veg and is syn free leaving you with syns for gravy or stuffing or even a dessert. I hope you enjoy this recipe.

Marks out of ten from Luke = 9
super free foods = 8
speed foods = 9
syns on extra easy= 0*

Skinny Roast Lamb Dinner.

Ingredients (serves 2 hungry people)

– leg of lamb, bone removed and all visible fat removed. (for me this meant cutting into the meat to pull out fatty bits in the middle and then rolling up the joint of meat and tying with butchers string to hold it together as one joint.
– 3 largish potatoes peeled and cut into roast potato size lumps
– 1 onion finely sliced
– a handful of sliced white cabbage
– a handful of sliced purple cabbage
– 1 pepper finely sliced
– 2 large handfuls of chopped curly kale
– 2 large carrots diced
– 2 handfuls of diced swede
– a handful of fine green beans
– 1 clove of garlic
– mixed herbs
– fresh thyme and rosemary

Method

The meat: Once all the visible fat is removed from your meat roll it back up (I put some rosemary and thyme and a few slices of chopped onion in the middle to help and flavour and keep it moist) and secure with butchers string. Season with salt and pepper and put into the oven at 200 degrees C. Follow the cooking instructions given. For my lamb I used 25 mins per 500grams plus 25 minutes this should have made the lamb medium but I turned the heat up for my roast potatoes and it was only slightly pink. Once the meat is done take out of the oven and wrap in tin foil, leave to rest for 10 minutes. Carve the meat and serve (we used half the joint and saved half for later in the week)

The potatoes: boil the potatoes in salted water for 15 minutes until soft all the way through but not soft enough to be breaking up in the pan. Drain the potatoes and pat dry with kitchen towel.  Put the potatoes on a preheated non stick tray that has been sprayed with spray light, sprinkle salt pepper and mixed herbs over the potatoes and spray with spray light before placing in the oven. Cook until crispy and golden brown, mine took 105 minutes on 200 degrees C.

The Swede and Carrot, Garlic Mash: Boil the diced carrot and swede until soft enough to mash. Drain and put in a bowl then mash or for a smoother finish blend with a stick blender. Fry a clove of grated garlic in fry light and then add the mashed veg and combine. Put your mash into an oven proof bowl and make the top spikey by using a fork.  Place in the oven for 10 minutes for the top to get slightly crispy.

The Mixed Steamed Veg: this is a favourite in our household and was inspired by the veg that comes with the Jamaica dinners at our local takeaway. in a mixing bowl combine the sliced onion, pepper, and cabbages then place in the steamer (I use a colander over a pan of hot water and a tin foil lid) cook until tender and then season. Do not season before steaming as this can make the cabbage slimy.

The curly kale and fine green beans: both these can either be boiled or steamed for a few minutes each- which ever is your preference.

Top Tips:

For an extra healthy dinner you could use chicken breast instead of lamb or Quorn fillets for a veggie version both of which are speed foods.

Remember if you are adding, sauces, gravies or stuffing these all contain syns so be sure to check the values out carefully before adding them to your plate.

* Although I make every effort to correctly work out syns values, please be aware that syn values may vary depending where you buy certain items and that being human I do make mistakes. If using my recipes please double check the syn value for yourself, I would hate a mistake to sabotage anyone’s weight loss.

3 thoughts on “Skinny Sunday Roast Dinner

  1. Pingback: Skinny Shepherd’s Pie | Our Journey to slim and healthy

  2. I love the idea of using a colander over the boiling water to steam veg-Why have I never thought of that! I hate overdone veg. Your food pics look lovely. 🙂

    • I really like to have lots of different veg in one meal and I kept running out of pans. I also have some super cheap bamboo steamers that work over a pan, you can pick them up super cheap from Chinese super markets (like £2 cheap) I will take a picture next time I’m using them so you can see. I totally agree that mushy veg are a bit gross, plus you end up loosing all the nutrients if you cook them to death. Thank you for reading and commenting. Kate

Leave a Reply

