Sea Bass and Beetroot

One of the sweetest offerings from the depth of the sea married to one of the sweetest roots we pull from the depth of the soil united on my plate last night to make a really perfect self indulgent supper. Luke and I miss each other on Tuesdays he gets home from work literally minutes after I have left for work and so eating together doesn’t usually work for us. Normally I slow cook something but after being reassured that Luke could fend for himself for one night I cooked myself a completely self indulgent supper full of my favorites that Luke isn’t so keen on.

Marks out of ten from Luke = Well he didn’t eat it but I give it 10
super free foods = 6
speed foods = 7
syns on extra easy= 0*

Sea Bass, Roasted Beetroot and Steamed Vegetables.

Ingredients

-sea bass fillet per person
– 1 or 2 fresh beetroot per person (not the slimy vacuum packed stuff)
– fresh dill
– veg to steam, i.e. carrot, cabbage, peppers, onion

Method

– wash the beets and wrap in tin foil bake in the oven for 90 minutes at 180 degrees C.
– season the fish and sprinkle with chopped fresh dill, wrap in a tinfoil package and bake for 20 minutes (ish) at 180
– slice a mixture of vegetables really thin, I used peppers, carrots, onions, and two types of cabbage. Steam over hot water until soft but not mushy

– serve on a pretty plate.

Top Tips

If you are really hungry or you are prone to evening snacking you could always add some carbs to this dish.  Why not try cooking some quinoa or cous cous and seasoning with a squeeze of lemon and a sprinkling of dill? It would still be a syn free dish.*

* Although I make every effort to correctly work out syns values, please be aware that syn values may vary depending where you buy certain items and that being human I do make mistakes. If using my recipes please double check the syn value for yourself, I would hate a mistake to sabotage anyone’s weight loss.

Leave a Reply

