Loving Who You Are

Recently my Gran told Luke she was writing to him and sending him a picture of me. The picture was chosen and sent with good intentions and all the love in the world but was actually quite upsetting for me, not that I would ever tell her because I appreciate the motive behind it. The picture was me at age 10 and the message was along the lines of , Look how beautiful Kate was before she got fat, if she sticks at it you’ll have beautiful girlfriend, it makes me really sad when I think to myself, ‘where has my beautiful granddaughter gone.’

Of course I want to loose weight but I don’t wretch every time I look in the mirror. Yes it will be great to be able to wear anything I want from normal high street shops but I’m not going to hide away or dress in sack cloth until I can fit in a pair of Top Shop jeans. And I am pleased to say that Luke finds me very attractive as I do him.

Yet all of this raises a really valid question, how do you love yourself and your body whilst knowing that you need to change it for your health and whilst you’re actively trying to change what you’ve got? Where’s the line between crying yourself to sleep every night until you reach your goal and not caring enough to make a change?

When you are trying to improve something, your health, fitness or weight it’s hard not to focus on the reason you need to improve it, ie being unhealthy, being unfit or being over weight but this can lead us to getting bogged down and putting our happiness on hold until we achieve something that might take us a long time to achieve.

Here are my top tips for loving your self every step of your weight loss journey. This is a learning curve, I am still learning and I would love to hear your tips too so please share them with me.

Shift your focus

Don’t focus on why you need improving, instead celebrate every single step you take towards your goal and when you feel like your taking back wards steps, celebrate everything that you have learnt taking that step!

Bad thought: Ugh! I need to loose x amount.
Good thought: I have lost x amount of weight and I have the power to loose the rest.

Bad thought: ARGH! every one is working out much harder than me and looking so much better.
Good thought: x weeks ago I wouldn’t have dreamed of stepping in a gym and look at me now!

Plan Ahead

Making plans is key to success and will prevent situations where you are starving and surrounded by food that is no good for you. Make healthy picnics for days out, plan extra exercise into days when you know you’re going to be eating or drinking more. Fill up on healthy foods before parties, Get up early and make a packed lunch for work. All of these things will help you stay in control and while you feel in control and on top of your goals you’re much more likely to feel happy with where you’re at.

No Such Thing as a Small Success

How many times have we not celebrated a weight loss because it was only 1lb or because we missed a goal by 1/2lb. When actually every loss means being closer to your goal. I saw this on twitter and now find it helpful to think about the weight I have lost in terms of random objects. LMAO.

How much weight have you lost? (sorry for not sourcing this I can’t find the source)

1 pound = a Guinea Pig
1.5 pounds = a dozen Krispy Kreme glazed donuts
2 pounds = a rack of baby back ribs
3 pounds = an average human brain
4 pounds = an ostrich egg
5 pounds = a Chihuahua
6 pounds = a human’s skin
7.5 pounds = an average newborn
8 pounds = a human head
10 pounds= chemical additives an American consumes each year
11 pounds = an average housecat
12 pounds = a Bald Eagle
15 pounds = 10 dozen large eggs
16 pounds = a sperm whale’s brain
20 pounds = an automobile tire
23 pounds = amount of pizza an average American eats in a year
24 pounds = a 3-gallon tub of super premium ice cream
25 pounds = an average 2 year old
30 pounds = amount of cheese an average American eats in a year
33 pounds = a cinder block
36 pounds = a mid-size microwave
40 pounds = a 5-gallon bottle of water or an average human leg
44 pounds = an elephant’s heart
50 pounds = a small bale of hay
55 pounds = a 5000 BTU air conditioner
60 pounds = an elephant’s penis (yep, weights more than his heart!)
66 pounds = fats and oils an average American eats in a year
70 pounds = an Irish Setter
77 pounds = a gold brick
80 pounds = the World’s Largest Ball of Tape
90 pounds = a newborn calf
100 pounds = a 2 month old horse
111 pounds = red meat an average American eats in a year
117 pounds = an average fashion model (and she’s 5’11”)
118 pounds = the complete Encyclopedia Britannica
120 pounds = amount of trash you throw away in a month
130 pounds = a newborn giraffe
138 pounds = potatoes an average American eats in a year
140 pounds = refined sugar an average American eats in a year
144 pounds = an average adult woman (and she’s 5’4”)
150 pounds = the complete Oxford English Dictionary
187 pounds = an average adult man
200 pounds = 2 Bloodhounds
235 pounds = Arnold Schwarzenegger
300 pounds = an average football lineman
400 pounds = a Welsh pony

Leave a Reply

