Loosing 2 st

Thank you to everyone who has said well done or congratulated me on looking well. As you might have seen from my last post I have now lost 2 st (and 1 lb!). This hasn’t always been easy but it has been mostly enjoyable and definitely sustainable.

But what does loosing a sizeable amount such as 2st actually mean. Well of course the fact is that it means lots of different things to lots of different people and I can only tell you what it means to me.

Measurements.

5 weeks into my weightloss journey I decided to measure my self. I measured around my waist, my hips, my upper arms, my thighs and my neck. At this point I had already lost over 1 stone, now I have lost 2stone and have measured my self again and I have seen a massive difference, I’m just annoyed I didn’t measure myself right at the begging

I have lost 2 inch of my things, 2 inches of my hips, 1.5 inches off my waist, 1 inch of my neck and 1 inch of my upper arms. And really I’ve lost more than that because I don’t have my start measurements. It’s really nice to be able to see it so clearly in those measurements.

Weight.

I have been routing round my house to find something that weighs 2st, so go get a 2litre bottle of water or fizzy drink, hold it in your arms, now imagine carrying around 6 of those with you all day! That’s what I was doing 12 weeks ago! I can’t imagine how I managed, no wonder I was on crutches with messed up knees!

Health

Over summer I spent some time on crutches and in and out of fracture clinic because my knee caps kept dislocating. Now it turns out ( after much prodding and proding, x raying and one horrible MRI scan) that I have shallow knee caps and my knees are predisposed to dislocating. But I wasn’t helping myself by getting so heavy. For every 1lb of weight you carry the force and pressure through your knees is equivalent to 5lbs. I’m really pleased to say that with the help of physio and weightloss my knees are getting so much better and are slipping no where near as much as before.

I would love to hear what your weight loss means to you. This blog is called slimming together but as much as that started as a reference to the fact that me and Luke are doing this there it has turned out to also cover the love and support I get from the helpful advice, comments and stories that you guys share with me on here and through twitter. Let me know how you are going. Peace

Kate x

Ps. Just I case you were wondering what 6 2 litre bottles of fizzy drink look like….

20121020-170834.jpg

8 thoughts on “Loosing 2 st

  1. Congratulations! I wish you wouldn’t have shown the ginger beer though! šŸ™‚ Love the stuff but I need to find some no sugar added. Might need to hit Whole Foods next week.

    • Good luck! If you can’t find any why not try this, it’s deliciously grown up and refreshing. In a large glass place one or two ginger tea bags, cover with a few cm’s of boiling water and leave to brew for a few minutes, then fill your glass with ice and top with sparkling water. It’s so good a usually make a jug full.

    • Thanks beccy, I tried to find you on fb but couldn’t, try and find me instead. šŸ˜€ hope you are well. Thank you for your kind comment

      • Ok! will do! What is your FB name? I don’t know your surname. Hope you are having a good week so far. I have just spent the day batch cooking-the downside is that I really dont want to eat anything now! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

