Skinny Saag Aloo

I don’t know about you but when I have an Indian takeaway or meal out its all the little e tras like starters and side dishes that I really enjoy and that make me happy. They are also the thing that makes my Indian habit so synful! That’s why I needed to make some syn free starters and side dishes. Here’s my syn free saag aloo

MARKS OUT OF TEN FROM LUKE = 8
SUPER FREE FOODS = 3
SPEED FOODS = 3
SYNS ON EXTRA EASY= 0*

Skinny Saag Aloo

Ingredients

– 4 waxy potatoes peeled and cubed
– a bunch of fresh spinach
– onions finely sliced
– a red chilli sliced into thin rings ( seeds in or out your choice)
– a thumb of ginger
– 2 cloves garlic
– mustard seeds, black onion seeds, cumin, turmeric

Method

Steam the potatoes, when they are almost cooked add the spinach and wilt.
Meanwhile, slowly cook your onions, once soft but not brown add the garlic, ginger and chilli.
Add the potatoes and spinach along with the spices and allow them to cook together for a few minutes for the flavours to merge.

Serve and enjoy.

* Although I make every effort to correctly work out syns values, please be aware that syn values may vary depending where you buy certain items and that being human I do make mistakes. If using my recipes please double check the syn value for yourself, I would hate a mistake to sabotage anyone’s weight loss

20121024-104639.jpg

Leave a Reply

