Kitchen Gadgets for slimmers

Now there are literally loads of things I could have pulled out of my kitchen to show you, my steamer, blender, gorge foreman grill, my measuring cups but these few things I have pulled out because they were cheap to buy and I use each of them on a daily basis.

I have given you a few ideas of how I use each one with the pictures. I would love to hear of any ideas you have of how I can add extra taste to my food using these few items. Or maybe there is something I have missed off my list? let me know in the comments below.

photo (45)First up is my weigh scale, this is a mini scale advertised as a diet scale and means I can measure much more accurately than on my larger scales. I often find that on weeks that I slip off plan the first thing that slips is my weighing and measuring so I have these bad boys out on my kitchen window sill all the time ready to weigh.

Next up I have my garlic crusher which I also use for ginger. Hardly any of my meals don’t contain garlic or ginger.

Salads are great with a bit of lemon or lime squeezed on but if you want a less sharp taste, as I often do, then a rinder is great, not only does it give you pretty fragrant curls or lemon or lime it leaves behind all the bitter pith. yes its time consuming, no its not necessary but yes I love it. I have even been know to dump a muller light into a cut glass bowl and top with a little lime shavings and a sprig of mint, my slimming version of fine dinning that can be enjoyed on the sofa in your pj’s!

My pestle and motor also gets a daily outing. There are loads of free ingredients that you can grind up and mix into salad dressings or marinades, here are the ones I experiment with:

chili, garlic, ginger, salt, pepper, herbs, spices, lime juice, lemon juice, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, balsamic vinegar, cider vinegar, red wine vinegar, spring onion, sweetener

And if I have some spare syns I might add, toasted sesame seed oil, pesto, chili oil, wasabi. (be sure you check all the syn values, don’t let them slip you up.)

The final thing I use every day for salads and stir frys and hiding vegetables in things so Luke will eat them is my double ended peeler one side does really thin ribbons and the other side makes vegetable spaghetti, its great. today I made an omelet with courgette spaghetti in it. Luke hates courgette but he ate it up because there weren’t any big soggy lumps in there.

photo (46)

photo (47)

3 thoughts on “Kitchen Gadgets for slimmers

    • I think debenhams, not too long ago. Jamie Oliver has a peeler with three interchangeable heads that does the same thing but its expensive! You can buy the Jamie Oliver one from amazon.

Leave a Reply

